Lime and Coconut Cake

IN0trRLLQ6y10kjPeui0_CoconutLimeCake2I’ve been asked for the recipe for my Lime and Coconut cake which I make for Askwith show, so I thought I’d put it on here! It’s quite exciting as no one has ever asked me for a recipe before!!! I always make mixture in my Kenwood…

  • 8oz (225g) plain flour
  • 2.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8oz (225g) butter at room temperature
  • 8oz (225g) sugar
  • grated zest of 2 limes
  • 4 eggs from chickens in garden!
  • 4tbsp fresh lime juice (from about 2 limes)
  • 3oz (85g) desiccated  coconut

I always weigh my eggs as there is a huge discrepancy in egg size depending on who has laid the egg (Jasmine’s are little, but Evangeline’s are huge!!) and ensure the flour, butter and sugar are the same weight.

For frosting, sorry, this recipe is all in metric, it’s from the hummingbird cookbook!

  • 600g icing sugar
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 250g cream cheese
  • Lime juice and zest from 1 lime

 

  1. Preheat oven to GM4/350/180. Grease 9″ sandwich tin, line bottom if necessary
  2. In the large bowl, beat butter, sugar and lime zest on full speed until pale and fluffy,  then continue at full speed to beat in eggs one at a time. I usually add a tablespoon of the flour every so often to try and stop it curdling!
  3. Fold in flour, baking powder and salt on slowest speed, add lime juice at same time. When mixture is smooth, fold in 2/3rds of coconut mixture.
  4.  Pour in baking tin, smooth out and bake for about 40-50 minutes. Test with a skewer
  5. Allow cake to cool on wire rack.
  6. Spread remaining coconut on a spare cake tin. Bake until golden, give it a stir or a shake after a few minutes. Watch carefully as it doesn’t take long, maybe 5 minutes or so. Cool.
  7. Make cream cheese frosting; I seem to remember this makes a lot of frosting, but half quantities is not enough and my maths isn’t up to more complex divisions! Beat icing sugar and butter together in mixer on slow-medium speed until it comes together and is well mixed. Add the cream cheese in one go and beat it on medium to high speed until light and fluffy, around 5 minutes, keep a close eye on it though as if it is overbeaten it goes runny! Add lime juice and zest during this last beating, adjusting to taste as needed.
  8. Cut cake into two layers, spread frosting over middle and on top. Sprinkle toasted coconut on top to make it look pretty!

Enjoy!

the-more-you-weigh-the-harder-you-are-to-kidnap-19566243

About craftycreeky

I live in a busy market town in Yorkshire with my husband, kids, dogs and chickens. I love trying new crafts, rediscovering old ones, gardening, walking...anything creative really I started this blog after my New Year resolution worked so well. My resolution (the first one I've ever kept!) was to post a photograph of my garden on Facebook every day. My hope was that I would then see what was good in the garden and not just weeds and work, which was my tendency. The unexpected side-effect was that I have enjoyed many more hours in the garden. I am hoping that 'The Crafty Creek' will have the same effect. Happy creating!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

