Rigby & Peller

slider_sec_6I must, I must improve my bust…but as we discovered at our meeting, a well fitted bra is much more effective (and easier!!) than exercise at improving ones bosom!

Our speaker in July had to pull out at the last minute but Val, our doughty speaker finder, managed to persuade Donna and her colleague from Rigby and Peller in Harrogate to come along. Founded in 1939 by Gita Peller and Bertha Rigby the underwear brand has long been synonymous with luxury and holds a Royal Warrant, providing bespoke underwear to the Queen and other members of the Royal Family. It was a fascinating evening and we heard how important it is to buy underwear which fits properly as in their experience most women are wearing the wrong size. They brought along a wonderful range of delectable underwear which we all fairly drooled over.

201608_herritage2

 

In August our speaker will be one of our own members, Andrea Ainley, who is a volunteer and fundraiser for the Open Arms Infant Home in Malawi. It provides love, shelter, food and medical care for Malawi’s abandoned and orphaned babies and Andrea’s been to Malawi many times to help at the home.

About craftycreeky

I live in a busy market town in Yorkshire with my husband, kids, dogs and chickens. I love trying new crafts, rediscovering old ones, gardening, walking...anything creative really I started this blog after my New Year resolution worked so well. My resolution (the first one I've ever kept!) was to post a photograph of my garden on Facebook every day. My hope was that I would then see what was good in the garden and not just weeds and work, which was my tendency. The unexpected side-effect was that I have enjoyed many more hours in the garden. I am hoping that 'The Crafty Creek' will have the same effect. Happy creating!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

